About…

If you are reading this post for the first time then I would like to welcome you to Inspector Graduate, a blog which one day I hope to be a recognised guide to graduates on their post-university options.

I believe that the opportunities available to graduates are pretty much infinite, however, it disappoints me to say that the research into them and subsequent guidance is anything but. And essentially, this is why Inspector Graduate was born; the lack of post-university guidance for graduates has inspired me to start this blog, in the hope that the graduates of tomorrow have somewhere to go to seek advice.

But before I go into the inspirations behind my desire to start writing, I think it would be more beneficial to give you an insight into my background which will hopefully help you to understand my motivations to begin Inspector Graduate.

I’ll start with the basics:

Name: Sam

Date of Birth: 16/05/1989

Hometown: Durham

University: University of Liverpool

Degree: BA (Hons) Marketing

Graduated: July 2011

So after spending three of the best years of my life at the University of Liverpool, I was left feeling slightly confused after the post-exam hype had died down. What am I supposed to do with my life? But it wasn’t all doom, gloom and confusion; I still had graduation to look forward to where I received a BA (Hons) in Marketing and enjoyed one last week of fraternising like a fresher. But after that was over, I truly was thrust into limbo.

I made the best I could of my CV and began an aggressive search for a job in my hometown. As I was unemployed and completely skint, I completed the online forms for Job Seeker’s Allowance and made an appointment at my local JobCentre Plus. The advisor at JobCentre Plus was helpful but ultimately their objective was to assist me in securing any kind of employment, regardless of my preferences and qualifications.

Over the next few months I applied to pretty much any job that was posted onto the JobCentre Plus website and received countless rejections for reasons ranging from “over qualified” to “under qualified”, and some I didn’t even get a response. I also applied to as many graduate schemes as possible with little success and in an attempt to improve my CV (shallow, I know), volunteered my services for a national charity. I also approached several organisations in the County Durham area to offer my services as an intern, however, I was informed by an advisor at JobCentre Plus that this would conflict with my Job Seeker’s Allowance agreement.

After exhaustive attempts to secure employment, I took some time to consider what my options actually were and came to the realisation, MY OPTIONS ARE ENDLESS! The routes a graduate can go down are countless, and I’ve provided a list of just a few below:

  • Further Study
  • Volunteer Work
  • Graduate Schemes
  • Travelling
  • Internships
  • Teaching
  • Entrepreneurship

The options listed above are just a few I thought of off the top of my head. Some of them overlap, many of them can be combined and even more of them have numerous sub-routes. I intend to investigate the many options available to graduates and provide feedback and guidance on them so the many graduates who spend years stuck in limbo can find their way out.

Stay posted for more gradvice.

One thought on “About…

  1. Loving the title. And yeah, you’re right! Life’s tough for a BA graduate and I found the services at University College Dublin a one fit all solution to a very specific “problem” after studying Spatial Planning. They didn’t understand my degree and my lecturers were totally out of the industry loop from working in academia for so long.
    I’m looking forward to future posts!

Leave a Reply

